Play Time! Pt. 1

25 Nov

Once again my students have copied me, stressing the importance of my last post.  This time, I told them that I used Xtranormal for my summary of learning for this class. Now, almost all of my kids are playing with and using Xtranormal.  I decided that I had better step it up and find some more Web tools that I can become an “expert” thusly expanding my student’s repertoire of tools.  I decided that my focus for blogging this week will be learning and practicing the web 2.0 tools that were suggested to me by my Tweeps this week.  My reflections on each will be in the form of each of the tools instead of a formal written blog.

The first tool that I explored is Prezi, a tool that allows you to publish and present information in a unique way. Unfortunately, I was unable to embed the presentation in this blog, which is a drawback for me. View my Prezi here.

The second tool I used was Glogster.  While I found it tedious to use and the choices overwhelming, I think  that kids would really like it. I like that you can embed pictures, video and audio but did not like that the text boxes were so small.  I tried to embed my poster into this post but it would not recognize my user name and password.  I do not think that I would use this tool to present information to my students but I would suspect that students would really enjoy it.

5 Responses to “Play Time! Pt. 1”

  1. lewisv November 25, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    Hi Danielle. Thanks for sharing. Personally, I really like Glogster as I experimented with it for the purposes of this class. Like you, all I could do was provide a link to my sample in my blog as I couldn’t embed it in wordpress. I am not cetain if there is a way around this or not. I think students would enjoy this tool and can easily see its usefulness in a Career Educaiton classroom, for instance. The Career Education curriculum lends itself well to portfolio building. I could see this tool being used to create some “All About Me” collages and such. I really appreciate reading about what tools you and our other classmates are using and how you are incorporating them into your classrooms. I appreciate your post. Take care.

  2. Jen November 26, 2010 at 3:04 am #

    Great post! I did something like this awhile back and had a lot of fun playing with the tools. This is the first I have seen of Glogster, thanks for introducing it to me!

  3. Lisa M Lane November 27, 2010 at 3:07 am #

    I love what you’re doing here, Danielle! You’re showing them how to play too. 🙂 I have a colleague who uses Glogster and just loves it. I find that Prezi seems to involve some design talent I don’t really have, but I love that you can put a bunch of images in one place and zoom out and in — that alone makes it worth it.

  4. courosa November 30, 2010 at 7:13 am #

    I’m very glad that you are bringing your discoveries into the class like this – thanks for sharing these moments.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Play Time!: -- Topsy.com - November 25, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Danielle Stinson, Danielle Stinson. Danielle Stinson said: Play Time!: http://wp.me/p14BY8-1y […]

Leave a Reply

