My Project: Update After Student Feedback

14 Nov

Last week I asked my participating students to complete the second survey regarding communication methods with me.  I have posted the results of that survey and my reflections on it below.  Any observations, comments or things for me to think about while I continue would be appreciated.

 

 

Results of The Second Survey

This second survey was given to my students on November 9, 2010. It examines their use so far of the three communication options, what they would like to see to make it better and what their preferred method has been so far. I also asked for some written feedback regarding the three options.

ChartExport.png
ChartExport-1.png
ChartExport-2.png
ChartExport-3.png

What positive comments can you make about the classroom website?

# Response Date Response Text
1 Nov 6, 2010 7:36 PM good homework information
2 Nov 6, 2010 11:05 PM Its design of the page layout is very easy to use.
3 Nov 8, 2010 5:31 AM Its makes easier to go on the wiki!
4 Nov 9, 2010 2:39 PM I like all of the links to things we need like igo, engrade, homework, and notes etc.
5 Nov 9, 2010 11:57 PM The homework stuff !
6 Nov 11, 2010 6:00 PM i think the classroom website really helps to allow me to get to wikispaces.
7 Nov 12, 2010 5:10 AM It helps me remember my homework if I forget my agenda.

What would make the classroom website more useful for you?

# Response Date Response Text

1 Nov 6, 2010 7:36 PM if there was more interactive stuff to do
2 Nov 6, 2010 11:05 PM If it had more links to infrotion we are learning about
3 Nov 8, 2010 5:31 AM Nothing, I think it’s perfect.
4 Nov 9, 2010 2:39 PM I don’t know
5 Nov 9, 2010 11:57 PM maybe put games on it but like school games
6 Nov 11, 2010 6:00 PM if everything was linked to the classroom website
7 Nov 12, 2010 5:10 AM If we could see the actual assignment in case we forget it.

What positive comments can you make about the Senior Eagles Wiki?

# Response Date Response Text

1 Nov 6, 2010 7:36 PM a lot of information on our classroom topics
2 Nov 6, 2010 11:05 PM It has tons of good links to information and easy to use.
3 Nov 8, 2010 5:31 AM It helps you a lot with your homework!
4 Nov 9, 2010 2:39 PM I don’t use it
5 Nov 9, 2010 11:57 PM checking stuff!
6 Nov 11, 2010 6:00 PM that everyone can contribute
7 Nov 12, 2010 5:10 AM Its good for typing stories or documents and access them at school rather than forgetting them at your house.

What would make the Senior Eagles Wiki more useful for you?

# Response Date Response Text

1 Nov 6, 2010 7:36 PM n/a
2 Nov 6, 2010 11:05 PM Nothing, Its great already!
3 Nov 8, 2010 5:31 AM Again, Nothing, I think it’s perfect.
4 Nov 9, 2010 2:39 PM Not sure
5 Nov 9, 2010 11:57 PM the homework !
6 Nov 11, 2010 6:00 PM if evryone used it
7 Nov 12, 2010 5:10 AM Being able to chat with teachers.

What positive comments can you make about having me as a friend on Facebook and what I post on there?

# Response Date Response Text

1 Nov 6, 2010 7:36 PM all homework assignments in one place
2 Nov 6, 2010 11:05 PM I always look at the homework to make sure i am not missing something.
3 Nov 8, 2010 5:31 AM It’s easier to know what we have for homework all you have to do is when you are on facebook just go and check on you wall.
4 Nov 9, 2010 2:39 PM It is good because it reminds me of all our homework so I remember to do it.
5 Nov 9, 2010 11:57 PM Having the homework updates and stuff
6 Nov 11, 2010 6:00 PM it helps because when i go on facebook i can see what i have for homework
7 Nov 12, 2010 5:10 AM That its nice to let you know if your sick or something like that

What could I post on Facebook that would make it more useful to you?

# Response Date Response Text

1 Nov 6, 2010 7:36 PM links to wiki and Ethel Milliken school
2 Nov 6, 2010 11:05 PM Stuff that we will be doing the next day
3 Nov 8, 2010 5:31 AM Mabe when you are on and we need help with something you can go to the chat and talk to us.
4 Nov 9, 2010 2:39 PM I think it is just fine where it is.
5 Nov 9, 2010 11:57 PM i don’t know
6 Nov 11, 2010 6:00 PM limks to all the website we use
7 Nov 12, 2010 5:10 AM Nothing

ChartExport-4.png

So far, what is your preferred way of getting information about school from me? Please explain why,

# Response Date Please explain why

1 Nov 6, 2010 7:36 PM I use it the most
2 Nov 6, 2010 11:05 PM I am on facebook almost everyday
3 Nov 9, 2010 2:39 PM because I already use facebook so its a lot easier just to check from facebook
4 Nov 9, 2010 11:57 PM Because i am always on Facebook and i can just check it.
5 Nov 11, 2010 6:00 PM because when i go on facebook i get reminded of what i have for homework if i forget
6 Nov 12, 2010 5:10 AM Because I would rather go facebook than classroom website.

Is there another method of communication online that you would like us to try using?

# Response Date Response Text

1 Nov 6, 2010 7:36 PM e-mail
2 Nov 6, 2010 11:05 PM no dont think so
3 Nov 8, 2010 5:31 AM Just puting it our there not tweeter.
4 Nov 9, 2010 2:39 PM No
5 Nov 9, 2010 11:57 PM no
6 Nov 11, 2010 6:00 PM not that i can think of
7 Nov 12, 2010 5:10 AM No

My Second Reflection After the Results of the Second Survey

November 13, 2010

After reading the results of the second survey that I posed to my participants, my suspicions have proven correct. When I started this project, I figured that the most popular choice for communication with my students would be Facebook. I knew that my students would like it because it is something that they use on a daily basis. What I had not thought about was that having it delivered to them rather than having to seek out the information would make all the difference. It was not expressed in the results of the survey, rather in person during school time, but my students have really enjoying having my posts sent to them. With Facebook, I can deliver any information that I wish my students to have to them and I know that they will most likely see it. If I post information on any of the other sites, only those that are diligent to check them on a regular basis will see it, and that is not very many of them. Facebook seems to combat that problem but at the same time, it is not without it’s own complications.

One of the main complications with using Facebook with my students is privacy. I am not concerned about my own privacy as the account that I use for communication with my students is for school only and does not contain any personal information about me. I am most concerned with the privacy of my students and protecting myself from becoming involved with inappropriate conduct online. I would never require any of my students to become Facebook friends with me as it makes me privy to their outside communication with their friends and I believe that there are some lines that should not be crossed. When I discussed this project with my volunteers I made it very clear to them that by agreeing to help me they would be opening up the potential for me to see their profiles if I chose to. I also made this clear in the permission slip that I sent home to parents. See here:  ECI letter.htm Most students said that this did not bother them but when I began to add my students as friends and was able to see their wall postings, I became uncomfortable with it. I did not like seeing who posted on their walls or when they played a game even. I felt that the professional walls of teacher and student had been taken down too much. Seeing their wall posts makes me vulnerable to having information about them that I may at some point be responsible to do something about. What if they posted something that I perceived to be inappropriate. Would I be responsible to report these things to their parents? Yes, I probably would be and I would prefer not to be. I order to address these issues, I blocked all of their wall postings from my news feed. This helped somewhat but I can still access their information if I wanted to. Friending my students also limits the number of students that will be willing to communicate with me, some will choose not to because it invades their privacy and I do not blame them. I talked to my whole class about this the other day and it was suggested that I create a Facebook Group instead. This allows me to do all of the actions that I could do before (posts, links, video etc.) but does not require my students to Friend me to be a part of it. Problem solved! I now have four more of my students as members of my group but not as friends. In my final survey I will address this development and extend the survey to the rest of my students that have joined the group.

I have come to a conclusion after questioning my students about the effectiveness of the three communication tools that we are using. No one single tool will accomplish all the goals that I have for communicating with my students. Each of the three tools have their own purpose and benefits. In the end I will be choosing which combination of tools I will use and what their purpose will be rather than one single tool. My project has turned into a way to streamline my communication methods rather than exclude options.

 

4 Responses to “My Project: Update After Student Feedback”

  1. Lisa M Lane November 15, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    Hope it’s OK if I post a comment. 😉

    I have also been struggling with the idea of using Facebook for classes. At first I was concerned about the “creepy treehouse” effect (I’m the adult in their kid zone), but then I was more concerned about FB itself, and privacy. Although I hadn’t thought about it till I read your post, I unconsciously did not want to read their wall or know about them in a “friend” way. I started a group and just left it there — a few students joined but there’s no activity because I’m not sure what to do with it yet.

    I find it interesting, and predicatable, that what they want are reminders. Of course, they could create their own reminders using Google Calendar — there may even be something available in FB. It strikes me as both laziness and a desire to use the teacher like a computer/parent/enabler to demand reminders of things they should keep track of themselves. When we were starting building a student portal at the college (it never happened), this was the #1 request: that all faculty post all deadlines to everything so it just comes up for students.

    I’m wondered what we’re teaching when we do that? is it OK?

    Lisa

    • mrthejud November 15, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

      I understand where you’re coming from Lisa. Students should be keeping track of their own schedules but unfortunately that is not always the case. I guess the question comes down to which one we care about more, that is whether we have the student work in on time with out having to worry about marking late assignments. There have always been students who have kept track of their work dilligently and others that consistently have handed things in late. What has happend is that students who have had the habit of handing in things late now see this as a tool that could maybe help them out in terms of deadlines.

      I know that there has been a big push in Saskatchewan to not have any penalties for late marks. The reasoning is that they are saying that you should seperate the behaviour (handing things in late) from the academic value of the assignment. By including calendar reminders and such hopefully the students would keep on top of things and consistently hand things in.

  2. Jennifer Schlick November 15, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    Sorry. I glanced too quickly at the left sidebar where Lisa M Lane had left a recent comment and picked her up as the author of this blog. I fixed it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. You Got That Right! | EC&I 831 - November 15, 2010

    […] You Got That Right! Posted on November 14, 2010 by Jennifer Schlick No one single tool will accomplish all the goals that I have for communicating with my students. – Lisa M Lane (link) […]

Leave a Reply

