Mission: Possible

18 Sep

Hello everyone!

This is my second online computer/internet course that I have taken during my Master’s courses.  I really enjoy learning about new web tools etc. that I can use in my classroom with my students.  What I especially enjoy about these classes is that I can see what other people are doing so that I can be inspired by them and learning about new tools that I did not know about before.  From my first impression of this course I know that this will be another opportunity for me to be inspired and learn from others.  I love that I can do things for my students through this courses that I probably would do anyways but add the next dimension of having advice, suggestions and ideas from others.  That makes the resources that I create for them so much stronger.

My mission for this course is to create a space for my students to access and create information for their learning.  In my school, we have three grade 7/8 classes and over the course of the year we will be combining the classes in different ways for working in groups.  I wanted to create a space where all three classes could access information, links and instructions for their assignments  as well as a place where they can post their learning and collaborate, so I created the Senior Eagles Wiki.  Right now it is only in it’s beginning stages with very little information but I have big plans for it! What I would like to do is create a space where myself and my two 7/8 co-teachers as well as all the students have a space where we can collaborate from anywhere on everything that we do this year. I hope that through this class I can develop this space, create a place for student collaboration and class information and encourage my students to use it (which I think will be my biggest challenge).  I really want going to Senior Eagles to be as common for my students as walking into our physical classroom.  I hope and think that this class will help me to make this a strong resource and I look forward to developing it through this semester. Even just writing this blog has got my wheels with ideas for using the space… Mission on the way to being accomplished!

Leave a Reply

